Gamh Wednesday

sonomajon

What a great show!!

2-24-74 Winterland Arena, San Francisco Ca

Set I US Blues Mexicali BEW BIODTL Candyman Jack Straw China > Rider EL Paso Loser Playin

Set II Cumberland Roses Big River Bertha WRS Prelude> WRS Part 1>Let it Grow>Row Jimmy Ship Of Fools Promised Dark Star>Morning Dew Sugar Magnolia>NFA>GDTRFB>NFA

E: Baby Blue

The playin to end the first set was da shit' and everything from Dark Star on was magic..

• Forum MVP

is streamed the show from the east coast last night. first set was absolutely sick...second set started around 2am EST so I didn't make it....wish i could have heard the darkstar>morning dew :sleep:

Can't wait for tonight! What about Donna? How was she?

Donna was fabulous, and so was Lisa who alternated with Donna!!

The whole band was on fire all night!!! I've been to roughly 150 GD shows, including last nights 1974 Winterland show way back when I was an undergraduate physics student at Berkeley, who loved to get some release from the stress of classes by going over to Winterland. I honestly can't remember being more blown away by the musicianship at ANY GD dead show than I was last night. Sorry if this is somehow sacrilegious to say, but while the GD invented this music, DSO does it better on most nights IMO. I was just as excited to hear this show, as I was to watch the GD at Winterland in the 70's or at the Berkeley Greek Theatre during the 80's, which was probably my favorite era and venue.

During the second set, I made it right up to the front, directly in front of Donna. It was great to see her again, and obviously having such a wonderful time with DSO. I actually thought her singing fit in better with DSO than it did back in the 70's with the Dead. Part of this is probably just some more majority on my part with appreciating female vocals with Grateful Dead music. I think I had some kind of problem with "the chick vocals" back then, when I was a young idiot.